Weekly Response #4

11 Feb

For this weekly response blog, I read the post from Food Safety News titled “Pennsylvania Raw Milk Dairy to Resume Production.”  This post goes into detail about how the raw dairy farm, Your Family Cow, in Pennsylvania was permitted to start production of their raw milk again after the outbreaks of Campylobacter bacteria that have occurred in Pennsylvania, Maryland, West Virginia, and New Jersey had been linked to their facility.  Lab tests had confirmed that the bacterium was from the Your Family Cow raw milk dairy farm.  What surprised me while I was reading the post was that the people at Your Family Cow admitted that it was them and willingly shut down their facilities last month.  They performed safety improvements and were cleared to reopen recently.  Honestly, I’m not sure why I was so surprised when I first read this that they were allowed to reopen.  If their product caused so many illnesses, 43 this month, why was the plant allowed to reopen?  That’s what I thought when I first read it.  I couldn’t believe it, but as I read further and saw that the producers made a bunch of safety changes to help reduce the risk of another outbreak.  With raw milk being in the food news more often from outbreak and legislature trying to control or ban the sale of raw milk in different states, this article caught my attention, even more so since I have always loved milk.  I’ve never had raw milk and honestly articles like this would make me even less willing to try it, personally, I don’t think the risks are worth it at this point in time.  I did like the fact that Your Family Cow took responsibility for what happened and made the changes accordingly.  If more companies in the food industry acted like Your Family Cow did then perhaps there could potentially be a decrease in outbreaks of food born illnesses, and perhaps other farms that sell raw milk could take a lessen from Your Family Cow so that people who want raw milk will still be able to buy it.  Overall I did enjoy reading this blog post.  It was interesting to read.

Leave a Reply

