Weekly Blog Response #9

31 Mar

The article I read was called “FDA Seeks to Stop CA Fish Producer, Cites Botulism Risk.”  The article discussed the issue of food sanitation at a fish company out in California under the name of Blue Ocean.  The FDA gave them warnings, and sanctions have been filed against the company after diseases such as Listeria and the risk of botulism were discovered at the facility.  They ignored FDA warnings and the DA is seeking to file sanctions against them.

Honestly, I can’t understand why this company would ignore the FDA warnings.  What did they expect?  That they would just get away with it?  They’re lucky that no one has gotten seriously sick or died.  It just makes no sense to me especially since we have spent so much time talking about how important food safety is during production.  It’s a way that a lot of people could get really sick really fast.  Why would they want to ignore them?  Why would they want to risk it?

I wish the article provided more insight into what happened.  I don’t understand.  I really don’t.  I wish there had been more details provided, I’d be curious to learn more about the motives of Blue Ocean.  Though I do agree that they were very lucky that no one had gotten sick from their products.

Leave a Reply

